Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh

by Chua Han Au

Sleeping at almost 0200 every day; I wake up the very next morning, feeling like a prisoner being rudely awakened by the standing officer guarding my cell. My alarm clock resonates, disrupting the silence of the cold morning. I wake up, feeling groggy, like a torpid animal. This year, I am sitting for my GCE examinations. As such, life in school has been truly agonizing. Or should I say, different. I can finally empathize the previous batch of graduating students. The reluctance of waking up at 0600 every morning—the comatose from a lack of sleep. Fatigue faces finally made sense to me at that instant. In fact, everything made sense.

So this weekend, I decided that I needed to give myself a break. A real break. Not a short break whereby I put my pen down after solving a mathematical sum; or simply putting my homework aside and start indulging myself in classical music. I defined the term “break” as a short vacation.

I went to a Starbucks café. Ordered a Green Tea Latte and found a seat beside a window and sat down alone. I felt truly composed. I, for instance, have never eaten a meal alone before. This experience was therefore both fresh and new. It felt like the perfect environment to be enjoying a good book titled Jane Eyre written by the phenomenal Charlotte Brontë. Everything was perfect, tranquil and relaxing.

I liked it. In fact, I loved what I was doing.

And in that moment, I swear I felt infinite.

 

For WordPress’s Weekly Photo Challenge, here’s what I have.

Image

Photo courtesy of weheartit.com

To feel fresh, in the eyes of others, might be gratifying oneself with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, having a fruit salad with no dressing, or simply putting on new clothes. However, feeling fresh, in my opinion, is in association with tranquility. I believe that with tranquility, comes freshness.

What do you think?

