2AM Creative Writing Challenge

by Chua Han Au

It’s 2AM and your phone has just buzzed you awake, filling the room in white-blue LED light. You have a message. It’s a photo. No words, no explanation. Just a photo. Tell us all about it. And what happens next.

Astonished by that resonant ringtone, my eyelids opened; blinded by that lucid white-blue LED light that was in contrast with the sombre surroundings.

I mumbled something incoherent and turned to the other side of the bed but this time, with a pillow on the top of my head.

I was truly torpid, it were as though I hadn’t been sleeping for several days.

Beep-beep.

This time, fatigue evolved into exasperation.

Every muscle, every hair, every cell was now awakened. I turned back and stretched a hand to search for my phone, with closed eyes.

You bet it was hard. It’s like trying to use a knife to cut a carrot with closed eyes.

Got it.

As I slid my finger across the bar in a languid manner, I saw a photo.

There were no words, no explanation. Just a photo.

An image of crimson blood and a torn calico soaked in dark scarlet liquid.

Bewildered, I scrolled up to see who the sender was.

There was no identification whatsoever.

As my eyes switched to the ceiling, I was appalled by the slim silhouette of my fingers — they stretched like frail tree branches.

Frightened.

My heart palpitated and I could hear my pulse pulsate at the back of my ears.

It seemed as though I was part of a horror movie.

I immediately switched my phone off with trembling fingers and threw it back to where it was before.

I then went back to sleep but this time, with a blanket pulled all the way up to my chest.

The atmosphere was so silent that I could almost hear my own heart throbbing.

Thump. Thump. Thump.

My eyes were closed yes, but my mind was as clear as day.

I pondered over what that message meant and who that sender could be.

Was it an inclination of something malevolent? Or was it just a imbecilic prank?

As I closed my eyes, I swear I heard someone laughing. A laughter more wicked than any clown.

